Sunday, February 13, 2011

Wang Hao wins men's table tennis World Cup for third time

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

China's Wang Hao poses for a photograph with his trophy after winning his third men's table tennis World Cup title in Magdeburg, Germany, Oct 31, 2010.

MAGDEBURG, Germany - Two-time World Cup winner Chinese player Wang Hao welcomed his third men's World Cup on Sunday after beating Chinese rising star Zhang jike 4-1 in 2010 Men's World Cup held in German city Magdeburg from Oct 29 to 31.

Zhang won the first set by 11-8, and then Wang regained four points by 11-8, 12-10, 11-9 and 11-9. In the third and fourth set, Wang levelled the game from 7-10 and 7-9 by gaining straight points.

In the fifth set, after a draw of 7-7, Wang made progress without looking back and locked the victory at 11-9.

"After I got a Championship in the World Table Tennis Championships last year, I haven't got any Championship in Men's matches. This victory will improve my mental state and feeling during the competition." Wang said at the press conference after the competition.

"This means I have regained my previous good feelings. This is the most important thing." He added.

Chinese coach Wu Jingping also praised Wang and Zhang's performance in the competition. "I am very satisfied, I think this competition improved their confidence both." Wu said.

"Especially for Zhang Jike. He was left behind by Jun Mizutani by 3 to 0, then he reversed the whole match. This is a very important experience for him in the future growth." Wu said.

"Wang Hao also played against Oh Sang Eun here this time. It is very good for us to know about our competitors before the Asian Game." Wu said.

Zhang nailed one position in finals after a breathtaking victory against Jun from Japan on Sunday, while Wang defeated Oh from South Korea in quarter finals and Timo Boll from Germany in semi finals to win the seat in finals.

Wang Hao has hold the men's World Cup in 2005 and 2008 after defeating Timo Boll from Germany and Ryu Seung Min from South Korea separately.

The men's World Cup is a top level annual competition recognized by ITTF, held in different cities around the world. Now China has won the cup for 17 times since it was first held in Hong Kong in 1980.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.